Framework Madness!

And other adventures C# and asp.net …

Stick that Footer – No, really IE, I mean it!

leave a comment »

I was doing layout for a revision of Christwebs.com today and I was following a fairly well established pattern of using CSS to absolutely position a footer at the bottom of the page – always and regardless of page length. In the process of trying to get the CSS to work I stumbled on a great, concise tutorial on how to do this. Followed it all, again, and I got it working in Firefox and Safari but sure enough I had trouble with IE 7.

Well, I think I found a solution. The IE7.js script does a good job of fixing up IE 6 difficulties and making it work similar to IE 7. But one thing I also remembered is that there is an IE8.js script (here is the link to both on Google Code) that can fix up issues with IE 7. Sure enough, attaching the the IE8.js script fixed it up nicely. No complaints here.

Written by Lynn Eriksen

January 16, 2009 at 7:55 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Tagged with ,

Leave a Reply

